Oven Baked BBQ Ribs and all the Fixin’s

Oven-baked ribs

It’s summertime and being foodies, we absolutely crave anything to do with BBQ!

But what do you do if it’s raining, and you don’t want to fire up the grill, or you don’t have a bbq?  How about oven-baked ribs!  We normally just use our favorite store bought bbq sauce but for an extra kick, I love this simple recipe with additional spices.  The result is the perfect blend of sweet and tangy, with a bit of heat.

Getting to all the fixin’s … our favorites are potato salad, baked beans and cornbread.  I switched it up this time with creamy mac and cheese, slices of baguette with butter and of course, pickles.  We’ve dined at Famous Dave’s a few times, and they serve these awesome pickles with their bbq platters.  Their Signature Spicy Pickle Chips are addictive and available for $3.99.  You can also find them at Costco.  They’re crunchy, sweet, sour and a bit spicy.  I absolutely hated pickles for most of my life, and now I can’t believe how much I like them.

Are you craving BBQ?

Delicious Fall-Off-The-Bone Ribs

Adapted from food.com

Ingredients

  • 4 lbs pork ribs
  • 2-4 tbsp light or dark brown sugar (use less if your favorite bbq sauce is already sweet)
  • 1 tsp hickory smoke salt (or smoked paprika)
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • ½ teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)
  • 1 cup of your favorite bbq sauce
  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees
  2. Peel off tough membrane that covers the bony side of the ribs
  3. Mix together the sugar and spices to make the rub
  4. Apply rub to ribs on all sides
  5. Lay ribs on two layers of non-stick foil, meaty side up (so they don’t burn)
  6. Lay two layers of foil on top of ribs and roll and crimp edges tightly, edges facing up to seal
  7. Place on baking sheet and bake for 2 – 2 ½ hours or until meat is starting to shrink away from the ends of the bone.
  8. Remove from oven
  9. Heat broiler
  10. Cut ribs into serving sized portions of 2 or 3 ribs
  11. Arrange on broiler pan, meat side up and brush with bbq sauce
  12. Broil for 1 or 2 minutes until sauce is bubbly
  13. Turn ribs over and repeat
  14. You can also finish them off on a grill
Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Oven Baked BBQ Ribs and all the Fixin’s

  1. Christine Quinn August 22, 2015 at 9:34 pm Reply

    Hi Ruby,
    Nice to see you back, missed your blogs. I so enjoy your recipes you keep them simple and easy. Also love that it’s all the stuff I enjoy cooking and eating. Good job Ruby.☆☆☆☆☆
    Christine

    • cravingthis August 27, 2015 at 3:18 pm Reply

      Hi Christine,

      It’s nice to hear from you. Yes, I took some time away from my blog (bereavement), and I’m slowly making my way back here. Your support means a lot, and I’m glad you enjoy reading my blog content.

      Thanks so much!

      Ruby

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

