Almond Flour by Grain-Free JK Gourmet – Product Review

Almond Flour by Grain-Free JK Gourmet

Almond flour, also known as almond meal is made from whole blanched almonds without the skins. It’s gluten-free, has no trans fats and is a good source of fibre, calcium, magnesium and vitamin E. Just ¼ cup of almond flour = 3 grams of fibre, 6 grams of protein and only 1 gram of sugar!

I get a lot of inquiries regarding what brand of almond flour I use. When I first started my macaron craze, I tried a brand that was easily found in supermarkets. It was a bit coarse and I always had a good amount of leftover almond flour, even after a whirl in my food processor and sifting several times.

I even tried making my own almond flour, which is possible, but so much work! What a mess my kitchen was in. To make your own almond flour, you must combine blanched almonds with icing sugar in your food processor; otherwise you’ll end up with almond butter. You can also use unsalted almonds with skins, and I find it adds a nice speckle to macarons.

Pressed for time, I started searching for superfine almond flour and found one by Grain-Free JK Gourmet at my local health food store. It really is the finest ground almond flour I’ve used. Forget about your food processor, it isn’t necessary. If you were to pass it through a sieve, the residual amount is minimal.

Almond Flour by Grain-Free JK Gourmet

Keep in mind, almond flour is not just for making macarons, it’s very common in a lot of baked goods, especially French pastries and cakes. You can substitute a portion of regular flour with almond flour for extra nutrition and for really moist results, but be careful. I would not recommend a 1:1 ratio as almond flour has a completely different moisture content as well as added fat. I normally use ¼ cup as a swap, so for 1 cup of flour, I would use ¾ cup flour + ¼ cup almond flour.

Almond flour can also be frozen to ensure freshness. Just be sure to leave it out at room temperature the day before, to allow any moisture to evaporate before using for macarons.

You can purchase this super fine almond flour directly from Grain-Free JK Gourmet’s website, or find a store near you here.

Disclosure:
Product is courtesy of Grain-Free JK Gourmet. This is not a paid advertisement.

Tagged: , ,

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

