Hot Spinach and Artichoke Dip is Addictive!

Hot Spinach and Artichoke Dip

We’ve ordered Spinach and Artichoke dip quite a few times when dining out.  It’s not very often we indulge in such a rich and decadent dip, but H had a craving!  Naturally, I was inspired to make it at home and happy that it came out so well.

I had everything on hand, but I made some changes:

  • I rarely have (or buy) frozen spinach, so I steamed fresh spinach, left it to cool and squeezed out the juices. I never boil vegetables (or potatoes) – steaming is much better!
  • I didn’t have regular cream cheese on hand, and I have to say, spreadable cream cheese works as a substitute
  • I always have yogurt in my fridge so that’s what I used instead of the sour cream
  • One more thing, I didn’t have frozen artichokes … I just used the leftovers I had from a jar of marinated artichokes. Be sure to rinse them well, and squeeze out any liquid

Those are quite a few changes, but I like to work with what I have!

The dip is creamy and chunky, slightly salty and very rich … a little goes a long way!  You can serve it with raw veggies, tortilla chips or homemade pita chips – see below.

Hot Spinach and Artichoke Dip

Makes approximately 2-3 cups (I added more spinach)
Adapted from foodnetwork.com

Ingredients

  • 1 cup thawed, chopped frozen spinach
  • 1 ½ cups thawed, chopped frozen artichoke hearts
  • 6 ounces cream cheese (equal to ¾ cup)
  • ¼ cup sour cream
  • ¼ cup mayonnaise
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmesan
  • ½ tsp red pepper flakes
  • ¼ tsp salt (omit if using marinated artichokes)
  • ¼ tsp garlic powder
  1. Boil spinach and artichokes in 1 cup of water until tender and drain. Discard liquid
  2. Heat cream cheese in microwave for 1 minute or until hot and soft
  3. Stir in rest of ingredients and serve hot
  4. If it’s not hot enough, you can microwave for another minute or so

Kitchen notes:

  • Homemade pita chips: cut whole wheat or white pita bread (the kind that does not have a pocket) into triangles, brush lightly with olive oil, and heat in the oven at 400°F until crispy (watch carefully)
  • The dip reheats very well
Tagged:

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

