Quinoa Porridge

Quinoa Porridge

I never thought I would try quinoa for breakfast. To me, it’s more of a savory dish.

However, I woke up to another day of bitter cold temperatures and winter blues and decided to make it. I came across a simple and easy recipe from Martha Stewart. While quinoa porridge is an acquired taste, in my opinion, it’s an excellent way to start your morning while incorporating protein with every meal. At least that’s what I keep telling myself!

Quinoa is a superfood, packed with fiber and protein. It’s very nutritious and gluten-free. Quinoa also cooks fast at a 1:2 ratio (1 cup quinoa + 2 cups liquid such as water, broth or milk). You just bring the mixture to a boil and simmer for 15 minutes. Done!

Quinoa is slightly chewy with a nutty flavor, but it’s very bland! I added frozen blueberries, maple syrup, cinnamon and brown sugar, and topped it all off with some toasted pecans, pine nuts, almonds and pumpkin seeds.

I have to admit; I prefer oatmeal, but if you do try quinoa porridge, or you’ve had it before, tell me what you think.

Quinoa Porridge

Adapted from marthastewart.com
Serves 2

  • 2 – ½ cups milk, plus more for serving (your choice of skim, 1%, soy, almond, etc)
  • 1 cup quinoa, rinsed
  • 3 tbsp light-brown sugar
  • ¼ tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries
  1. Bring milk to a boil in a small saucepan. Add quinoa, and return to a boil. Reduce heat to low, and simmer, covered, until three-quarters of the milk has been absorbed, about 15 minutes.  Stir occasionally and watch carefully as milk tends to boil over
  2. Stir in sugar and cinnamon. Cook, covered, until almost all the milk has been absorbed, about 8 minutes
  3. Stir in blueberries, and cook for 30 seconds
  4. Serve with additional milk, sugar, cinnamon, and blueberries (optional)

Kitchen notes:

  • It’s important to rinse quinoa, even if the packaging indicates it’s been pre-washed
  • I used red and white quinoa, and the color contrasts are beautiful
  • Store in an airtight container in the fridge for up to six months
Tagged: , ,

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

