Strawberry Macarons

Strawberry Macarons

Strawberry macarons are one of my favorites and look so pretty.

I used my go-to macaron recipe from Helene Dujardin and went with unflavored shells. I mentioned in a previous post that flavored powders and compounds are a bit difficult to find, and the few times I’ve tried them; I wasn’t impressed with the taste. I would get an explosion of flavor followed by a strange aftertaste, a lot like aspartame or saccharin, which I avoid as much as I can.

The filling is where you can get creative, and a lot of pastry chefs choose this method. You can also add reduced strawberry syrup made from fresh strawberries to any buttercream recipe, but since its February, I opted for a high-quality spread by Crofter’s Organic.

Basic Macarons

Makes approximately 25 – 30
Recipe adapted and printed with permission from Helene Dujardin

Ingredients

  • 100 grams aged egg whites (approximately 3)
  • 25 grams granulated sugar
  • 200 grams powdered sugar (icing sugar)
  • 110 grams ground almonds
  1. In a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, whip the egg whites until foamy. Gradually add the 25 grams of granulated sugar and continue to whisk until you obtain a glossy meringue
  2. Combine the ground almonds and powdered sugar in a food processor and give them quick pulses. You want a super fine result. Have a sifter ready on top of another bowl, and sift the mixture. I usually repeat the process several times
  3. Add the ground almond mix to the egg whites and begin your macaronage. Start with quick strokes (folds) to break up the meringue a bit, and then slow down. You should not fold more than 50 times. This is where I made mistakes with my first two batches. The first time, I folded too long, the second time, I didn’t fold enough
  4. Fill a pastry bag with a round tip and pipe small rounds about 1.5” in diameter, onto 2 parchment lined baking sheets (or use Silpat). I don’t have a steady hand, so my “Sous Chef” drew circles from a template onto parchment paper for me
  5. After the macarons are piped, take the sheets with both hands and wrap them hard on a counter to release any air bubbles, being careful not to disturb the perfect round circles you just piped. Leave on your counter for 30 minutes to form a hard skin
  6. Preheat oven 295°F and bake 12-17 minutes (depending on your oven), rotating halfway through, top to bottom and inside to outside. Keep a close eye. If you can grab the top of a shell and it doesn’t jiggle, they’re ready. If they still move when you grab them, they need a bit more time (minute or two)
  7. Let cool completely before filling

Kitchen notes:

  • Filled macarons truly taste better after they have matured in the fridge overnight. They are tempting to taste right away, but I have noticed a complete difference in taste
  • I added a hint of pink gel paste to the macaron shells
  • For the buttercream, add a few teaspoons of high-quality strawberry jam (strained), a little at a time. You can also add a tiny amount of pink gel paste if desired
Tagged: ,

6 thoughts on “Strawberry Macarons

  1. foodluver1 April 19, 2014 at 10:00 pm Reply

    I’ve tried making macarons twice, but they didn’t turn out smooth and shiny. Mine had bumps.

    • cravingthis April 21, 2014 at 8:54 pm Reply

      I’ve seen even professional macarons with some bumps. And, I still have hit and miss days. I’ve learned the trick is to pulse the almond flour with icing sugar in a food processor, and then sift several times! Macarons are a real challenge to make, but when they come out right, it’s rewarding.

  2. timethief February 10, 2014 at 11:51 pm Reply

    I love macarons in almost all flavors. I’m not keen on mango but I like strawberry a lot..

    • cravingthis February 11, 2014 at 7:00 pm Reply

      Strawberry reminds me of summertime 🙂
      Thanks for visiting timethief!

      • timethief February 12, 2014 at 12:43 pm

        Me too. Wild strawberries are so rare where I live now that we haven’t picked them for years. We leave them for the birds and wildlife and plant domestic varieties instead.

      • cravingthis February 15, 2014 at 1:39 pm

        Awww, your area sounds very tranquil!

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

