Natural Delights Medjool Dates – Product Review

DSC_0073-PM

I have to admit; I thought I knew all about dates until I came across “Natural Delights” Medjool dates. These dates were long since thought of as the “king of fruits.” There is such an extensive history associated with them, dating back to 6000 B.C.

While there are many varieties of dates, the more commonly found one is the Deglet Noor. It’s an all-purpose date with a drier texture and is less expensive.

I came across the “Medjool” date last year, and it’s become my favorite one. The Medjool date is the largest of all dates, and is very sweet and soft with a perfect combination of brown sugar and caramel flavors. They are pricier, but definitely worth it!

DSC_0095-PM

Dates aren’t just for snacking; they are the key ingredients in Sticky Toffee Pudding, date squares and date cookies. We like to add them to smoothies, salads and stuffings as well.

Did you know that dates are a great energy booster, rated low/medium on the glycemic index, and are a good source of potassium?

Whenever I’m hungry and craving something sweet (other than cake), I’ll eat just two dates, and it carries me over for a long time!

Natural Delights also has other products that are unique: date rolls covered in almonds, pistachios or coconut, and one I’ve yet to try – chili lime!

When reviewing new products, I’m also very interested and concerned about food safety and manufacturing practices.  Visit Natural Delights to read more about their products, nutritional value, where to buy and some amazing recipes.  Visit Natural Delights to read more about their products, nutritional value, where to buy and some amazing recipes.

Disclosure:
Product is courtesy of Natural Delights.  This is not a paid advertisement.

Tagged: ,

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

