How to Make Homemade Brown Sugar

DSC_0672

There’s nothing worse than gathering your ingredients to bake something delicious and realizing your brown sugar is hard as a rock.  Sure, there are ways to soften it up, but I found it was only a temporary fix.

Brown sugar can be expensive, and there are recipes that call for light or dark.  I end up with one or the other clumping up before I have a chance to use it.

I discovered how simple it is to make brown sugar and wanted to share it with you.

Brown sugar is white granulated sugar and molasses; only two ingredients!  I have never purchased it again!  And, you’ll save money by making your own, especially when white sugar is on sale.

DSC_0646

DSC_0648

DSC_0653

DSC_0657

I also found that homemade brown sugar stays softer for months!

I hope you’ll give it a try, and let me know what you think!

Homemade Brown Sugar

Adapted from Martha Stewart

To make 1 cup light brown sugar:
Combine 1 cup granulated sugar and 1 ½ tbsp molasses

To make 1 cup dark brown sugar:
Combine 1 cup granulated sugar and 2 ½ tbsp

Kitchen notes:

  • Place a strainer over your KitchenAid bowl.  Add white sugar to dissolve any lumps, and then add molasses.  Use the paddle attachment.  Stir for several minutes until combined
  • Homemade brown sugar may not look like store-bought sugar right away, but rest assured, after a few days, when the flavors have developed, it will look and taste even better!
  • Be sure to store brown sugar in an airtight container, away from heat and light
  • I also use a brown sugar saver disk.  Just soak it in water for a few minutes, dry off, and place it in the middle of your container
  • Light brown sugar has a more subtle flavor and dark brown sugar has an intense molasses flavor.  They are interchangeable

Tagged: , , , ,

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

