Cream of Carrot Soup – Simple, Healthy and Satisfying

Cream of Carrot Soup

Fall weather is finally here!   I watched a cooking show on making homemade cream of carrot soup and of course; I had a craving for it.  Some recipes call for whipping cream, but I wanted a soup that was both healthy and flavorful.  Trust me; you do not need to add cream!

I don’t always know what’s in my fridge, nor do I remember to make a grocery list, so the other reason I decided to make soup was the fact that I had two large bags of carrots on hand – how did that happen?

This was my first time making a cream soup so I was ecstatic it came out so well.  I made some changes, which I highly recommend.  I didn’t have regular potatoes, so I switched it up with sweet potatoes – fantastic!  I also added a generous slice of fresh ginger – yes, don’t take my word for it, try it.  It adds such an amazing flavor.  The only herb I used was thyme.

This is definitely a recipe I’ll be making quite often.

Cream of Carrot Soup

Adapted from ricardocuisine.com
Serves 6

Ingredients

  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 tbsp butter or olive oil
  • 1 thick slice of fresh ginger
  • 5 cups vegetable or chicken broth
  • 3 cups carrots, peeled and sliced (about 7)
  • 1 cup potatoes, peeled and cubed (about 1 medium)
  • 1 sprig fresh thyme (or ½ tsp dried)
  • Kosher salt
  • Black pepper
  1. In a large deep saucepan, sauté onions in butter or oil on moderate high heat until softened
  2. Add fresh ginger and fresh or dried thyme and black pepper (amount depends on your taste buds), stir for a few minutes
  3. Add carrots, potatoes and broth
  4. Simmer over medium high heat for 20-30 minutes
  5. Use immersion blender until smooth or, let cool slightly and use your blender until mixture is smooth
  6. Season with salt and pepper

Kitchen notes:

  • I used a sweet potato
  • The entire batch fit in my blender
  • The soup freezes very well (up to 3 months)
Tagged: , , , , ,

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

