Asian Lamb Chops

Asian Lamb Chops

Lamb chops (and lamb shanks) are at the top of my “craving” list.  We’ve tried them with different marinades, mostly with olive oil and rosemary, but I wanted something different this time around.  The recipe from Epicurious sounded easy, and I had all the ingredients in our pantry.  I thought the amount of soya sauce would be too salty, so I cut down on the measurement and eliminated the salt.  I only used ½ teaspoon of five-spice powder; it can be extremely strong and overwhelming.

I cut the rack of lamb into individual chops and marinated them overnight.  Make sure you take them out at least 20-30 minutes before grilling (allow them to come to room temperature).  Since it’s hardly BBQ season, I broiled them.   They don’t take very long to cook, depending on how rare you want.  I cooked them for approximately 6-8 minutes on each side, and they ended up being medium.  They were very tender and juicy.  I did find the lamb chops had quite a bit of fat on them, so I can’t say there was a lot of meat on each chop.  We could have easily eaten at least 6 each!

The marinade is enough for 18 chops but we had 9 on hand, so I cut the recipe in half.

Tip: drain any excess moisture from the lamb chops before grilling or broiling.  This will ensure a nice sear.

Asian Lamb Chops

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ tablespoons hoisin sauce
  • 1 tablespoon light soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon Shaoxing wine (Chinese rice/cooking wine)
  • ½ tablespoon sugar or honey
  • ½ teaspoon Chinese five-spice powder
  • 9 rib lamb chops (about 1.5 pounds), well trimmed
  1. Whisk first 5 ingredients in small bowl
  2. Transfer to large resealable plastic bag
  3. Add lamb chops; seal bag and turn to coat
  4. Marinate in refrigerator at least 4 hours or overnight
  5. Prepare barbecue (medium-high heat)
  6. Drain lamb, leaving some marinade clinging (if any)
  7. Grill lamb until slightly charred, about 3-5 minutes per side for medium rare/medium (this depends on how you like your lamb cooked)

Kitchen note:

  • I broiled the lamb chops in the oven for about 6-8 minutes on each side for medium well

Enjoy; I know we did!

Tagged:

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

