Homemade Chinese Soup

DSC_0210 - Chinese Soup

I decided to make homemade Chinese soup for dinner, something simple.  I started with pork neck bones which I brought to a rolling boil and then drained.  After rinsing well, I returned them to the pot with plenty of cold water, some dried shrimp, dried Chinese mushrooms and salt.  I let the soup simmer for 1-1/2 hours before adding large chunks of carrot and winter melon.  After another 45 – 60 minutes, the soup was ready to enjoy.  The pork was fall-off-the-bone tender, and the broth was very flavorful.

Everyone has their version of homemade Chinese soup; let me know what yours is!

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Homemade Chinese Soup

  1. Grabandgorecipes January 21, 2013 at 2:52 am Reply

    Looks Yummy.

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

