My Favorite Banana Bread Recipe

IMG_0828 - final

I’ve tried many banana bread recipes and noticed that some call for oil or butter. I find recipes with oil have a greasy taste, whereas butter makes everything taste great! I also think the addition of buttermilk or sour cream is a must.  It makes for an incredibly moist loaf.

After experimenting with over 6 different recipes, I thought the one from Martha Stewart (which I’ve been using for a long time) was the best one.  Recently, I found a new recipe on the back of a Gold Medal flour bag.  I like to buy unbleached flour across the border (Gold Medal or King Arthur). I tried their recipe and now it’s my favorite one. The banana bread comes out moist and flavorful, with just the right amount of ingredients.

If you don’t have buttermilk, you can make your own by adding 1 tbsp vinegar or fresh lemon juice to milk, to add up to 1 cup (½ tbsp for ½ cup). Stir and let sit at least 5 minutes.  If I have sour cream or plain yogurt on hand, I mix it with milk (50/50), and I get great results.

This bread freezes well and we like to take a few pieces out for breakfast.  After the loaf has cooled completely, slice it into generous portions and wrap each one individually.  Store in a lock and lock container, or a heavy duty Ziploc freezer bag.

H likes walnuts and I prefer pecans; either one tastes great. I like to toast the nuts and let them cool before adding to the mix. Or, you can add chocolate chips/chunks.

My Favorite Banana Bread Recipe

Adapted from goldmedalflour.com
Makes two 8″ loaves or one 9″ loaf

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sugar (do not use less, I’ve already adapted this recipe)
  • ½ cup butter (room temperature)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 ½ cups mashed very ripe bananas (3 to 4 medium)
  • ½ cup buttermilk
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 ½ cups unbleached flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ¾ tsp salt
  • 1 cup chopped nuts or chocolate chips, if desired
  1. Move oven rack to centre position.  Preheat oven to 350°F
  2. Grease bottoms and tops of two 8.5×4.5×2.5″ or one 9x5x3″ loaf pan/s.  You can also use strips of parchment paper to line the pans
  3. In a separate bowl, add flour, baking soda and salt.  Use a whisk to combine, set aside
  4. Mix sugar and butter in large bowl until light and fluffy
  5. Add eggs one at a time, allowing at least 1 minute between each addition, scrape bottom of bowl to ensure all ingredients are incorporated
  6. Add bananas, buttermilk and vanilla.   Beat until smooth
  7. Stir in flour mixture just until moistened.   Do not overmix
  8. Gently stir in nuts or chocolate chips
  9. Pour evenly into pan/s
  10. Bake 8-inch loaves about 1 hour, 9-inch loaf about 1-¼ hours, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean
  11. Cool 10 -15 minutes on a rack.   Loosen sides of loaves from pans; remove from pans and place top side up on wire rack.   Cool completely, about 2 hours, before slicing
  12. Wrap tightly and store at room temperature up to 4 days, or freeze

Kitchen notes:

  • Always check your baked goods before the baking period has ended, or you’ll end up with overbaked and dry treats
  • Mini banana breads make great gifts! To make, grease bottoms and sides of 10 miniature loaf pans, 4 1/2×2 3/4×1 1/4 inches. I prefer to place strips of parchment paper down for easy removal. Divide batter among pans (about ½ cup each). Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean
Tagged: , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Banana Bread Recipe

  1. Donna Howard November 18, 2012 at 6:39 pm Reply

    thank you so much!! I think I cool completely but maybe not. I am going to try the 24 hour trick, and see what happens. Also invest in a new knife (hello Santa!!!). Thanks again, you’ve been a great help!!

  2. Donna Howard November 17, 2012 at 7:15 pm Reply

    I love this recipe and can’t wait to try it. Do you know what causes bread to crumble when I cut it?? It’s annoying

    • cravingthis November 18, 2012 at 3:40 pm Reply

      Hi Donna ~ thanks for visiting. I know what you mean; it is frustrating! When a banana bread hasn’t cooled completely, it will crumble if you try and slice into it. Have you ever noticed the next day, it won’t? But, who can wait that long?

      Try cooling the bread completely before slicing. You can store banana bread in the refrigerator for 24 hours before slicing as well, but I prefer my bread fresh, not cold.

      Also, cut with a long serrated bread knife, using a sawing motion. Try not to press down with too much pressure.

      Hope this helps. Happy baking!

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

