Egg-in-a-Hole!

Egg-in-a-Hole

H and I love eggs!  Fried to be exact.  I have to share a secret though; I am NOT good at frying eggs.  I’ve tried room temperature eggs, new non-stick pans, lots of oil and butter, but I guess when I’m frying 3-4 in a pan, there isn’t much wiggle room.  In my defense, H says I can’t be good at everything!

Enter “Egg-in-a-Hole!”  I’m sure many of you have made this very simple recipe, but I hadn’t.  When I told a friend about my broken yolks, she suggested making them this way.

What I love is that they’re fast and easy.  I like my hot food hot, and my cold food cold.  When I cook, I try to have everything ready all at once.  I even butter slices of bread before putting them in the toaster, so they come out hot and I don’t have to wait.

I LOVE this new way of frying an egg!

  1. Crack each egg into separate bowls
  2. Butter both sides of your bread
  3. Use a biscuit cutter and make a hole
  4. Add a small amount of butter to a non-stick frying pan.  I like to use a silicone pastry brush and melted butter. That way, I can control the amount
  5. Heat your pan to moderate heat, and place the buttered bread down (my pan can fit 2 slices of bread)
  6. Gently pour one egg into the center of the bread
  7. Sprinkle with a bit of salt and pepper
  8. I kept peeking at the underside so it wouldn’t get too brown
  9. Use a sharp-edged non-stick spatula and flip the bread over
  10. When the bottom is nicely browned, they’re ready!

DELICIOUS – and, no broken yolks!!!  I think kids would love their eggs this way too.  H was very happy since he’s a dipper!

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Egg-in-a-Hole!

  1. imex88 October 21, 2012 at 1:41 pm Reply

    Hmm

    Never tried that way but I do rather toast than grilled butter bread so to make 2 eggs, I waste 2 pc bread?

    _______ 🍎pple

    • cravingthis October 21, 2012 at 4:34 pm Reply

      LOL! Try it, you may like it 🙂

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

