Pumpkin Scones

Fall is my absolute favorite season!  I love the cooler weather.

This morning, after the rain ended, I opened our windows and doors, and had a nice breeze blowing through our home.  I started thinking of comfort foods and baking.  H just thinks of Thanksgiving and a turkey with all the trimmings!  We didn’t have a turkey last week, but I did make pumpkin scones for breakfast this morning.

I’m not a huge fan of pumpkin, neither is H, but I had two cans of pure pumpkin puree on hand.  I don’t mind pumpkin scones, muffins or even cheesecake, but I detest pumpkin pie.  Ditto for H.

I looked through several recipes before deciding on one that called for lots of butter!  I divided the recipe in half and found they were easy to make.  I’ve made scones many times; however, I find they taste best the day they are made.  They’re not as moist the next day, even if frozen and thawed.  I also thought the drizzled icing would be too sweet, but I found it was necessary; otherwise, the scones were too bland.

Our house smelled amazing as the scones were baking!  They were delicious with a cup of tea (or in H’s case, a large mug of coffee).  Try these scones and let me know what you think.

Pumpkin Scones

Makes 8
Adapted from tasteofhome.com

Ingredients

  • 2-¼ cups unbleached flour
  • ¼ cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1-½ tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • ½ cup cold butter
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup + 2 tbsp pure pumpkin puree
  • ¼ cup milk

Glaze:

  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • 1-½ tbsp milk
  • ¼ tsp pumpkin pie spice (I just used a sprinkle)
  1. Preheat oven to 400°F
  2. Place oven rack in the middle
  3. In a large bowl, combine the first seven ingredients
  4. With a pastry cutter or your finger tips, cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs
  5. In another bowl, whisk the eggs, pumpkin and milk. Stir into dry ingredients just until moistened, do not over mix
  6. Turn onto a floured surface and knead just a few times. Use flour sparingly if you find the dough is too sticky
  7. Pat into a nice round 8” circle; cut each into eight wedges
  8. Separate wedges and place 1” apart on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper
  9. Brush with milk or cream
  10. Bake for 14-18 minutes or until golden brown (use the tooth pick test to ensure they are done)
  11. Remove to wire racks; cool for 10 minutes
  12. Combine the glaze ingredients.  Add milk a little at a time!
  13. Drizzle over scones
Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Scones

  1. Cynthia March 8, 2017 at 5:09 pm Reply

    I made these and the smell is amazing. Very moist … thanks!!

  2. Pat June 2, 2013 at 1:43 pm Reply

    Can’t wait to make these for the next tea I serve!!

    • cravingthis June 5, 2013 at 6:44 pm Reply

      Hello Pat – please feel free to send us a picture! Hope you enjoy them, and thank you for stopping by.

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

