Mango Mania and Mango Macarons

These macarons are so refreshing, with a burst of mango flavor!

My father-in-law knows how much I love Ataulfo mangos, and buys cases for me when they are in season.  H is so helpful in scrubbing, peeling and then cutting the mangos into small pieces, so we can freeze them for smoothies and purees year-round.

I just started my macaron craze last year, so this was my first time making “mango” macarons!  I began with my go-to macaron recipe from Tartelette, and added a small amount of mango puree to the buttercream.   Flavored powders/compounds are a bit difficult to find, and the few times I’ve tried flavored macaron shells, I wasn’t impressed with the taste.  I would get an explosion of flavor followed by a strange aftertaste, much like aspartame or saccharin, which I avoid as much as I can.

I used Helene Dujardin’s (Tartelette) macaron recipe.  You can read about the basic macaron here, as well as my favorite Italian meringue buttecream.

Have you tried mango macarons, and if so, where?  If you’ve made them, how did they turn out?

If you have any ideas on how to incorporate mangos in a recipe, I’d love to hear from you.

Kitchen notes:

  • I added a hint of yellow color gel to the macaron shells; I don’t like to use large amounts. If you’re looking for a deeper color, I would suggest using orange color gel
  • For the buttercream, add a few tablespoons of mango puree at a time.  I found too much made the buttercream curdle.  In this case, you can continue to beat the buttercream and it will smooth out.  You can also add a minute amount of yellow/orange color gel if desired
Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Mango Mania and Mango Macarons

  1. timethief July 25, 2012 at 10:10 pm Reply

    I love macaroons but I’m one of those rare people who isn’t keen on the flavor of mango. So, here I am thinking of substitute fruit I could replace the mango with.

    • cravingthis July 26, 2012 at 2:04 pm Reply

      Hi timethief – you are not the only one; my brother hates mangos. I’ve made the same macarons with different flavored buttercreams. Any kind of fresh fruit puree such as strawberry, raspberry, blueberry, cherry, or even lemon curd will be delicious as well!

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

