Summertime is Perfect for Cold Sesame Noodles


H loves sesame oil and pasta so he had rave reviews when I made cold sesame noodles for dinner.  He’s also a meat lover so of course he wasn’t happy with the noodles alone.  I on the other hand, like to eat vegetarian dishes every now and then.

For the meat lover in our family, I marinated strips of boneless rib eye steak overnight, and then stir-fried in a small amount of hot oil to get a nice sear.

We both love coriander, but I realized we ran out, which means I’ll have to make this dish again!  H. promptly added coriander to our grocery list this week!

I gasped when I saw how much oil the recipe called for.  I’m always trying to reduce oil and salt when I cook, and sugar when I bake (but NOT butter)!  I tried using only 2 tablespoons of sesame oil, and it was okay, but the noodles did stick together the next day.  I added an extra ½ tbsp, but I personally wouldn’t add anymore than that as I found the noodles tasted a bit greasy. If you’re a sesame oil lover like H, you may want to experiment.

For the beef marinade, we used a bit of oil, cornstarch, Chinese cooking wine, light soya sauce, salt, pepper, grated fresh garlic and ginger.  Drain as much of the liquid as you can before you stir-fry.

Please let me know your thoughts, if you liked this dish with more or less sesame oil, and what type of pasta you used.

Enjoy; I know H did!

Cold Sesame Noodles

Serves 2 – 4
Adapted from Foodnetwork.com

Ingredients

  • 8 – 12 ounces long pasta of your choice (I used ¾ box of Catelli Smart spaghettini)
  • 2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 2 ½ tbsp toasted Asian sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp plus 2 teaspoons light soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp toasted sesame seeds (optional)
  • 1 tbsp peeled, grated fresh ginger
  • 1 tbsp minced fresh garlic
  • ¼ tsp kosher salt
  • 2 green onions, finely sliced
  • ¼ – ½ tsp crushed red pepper flakes (optional)
  • Fresh coriander, chopped (optional)
  1. Cook the pasta according to package instructions.  Drain and rinse under cold running water. Wait about 5-10 minutes and then transfer the noodles to a large bowl
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together the vinegar, oil, soy sauce, sesame seeds, ginger, salt, green onions, and, if using, red pepper flakes
  3. Pour mixture over pasta and mix until well coated.  Adjust condiments to your taste
  4. Sprinkle with chopped coriander if using
  5. Serve cold or at room temperature
Tagged: , ,

6 thoughts on “Summertime is Perfect for Cold Sesame Noodles

  1. timethief July 12, 2012 at 5:34 pm Reply

    Those both look tasty. Meat for him and none for me … lol 😀

    • cravingthis July 13, 2012 at 8:46 am Reply

      Thanks timethief ~ are you a vegan, or do you eat meat occasionally? I like to cut down on meat every now and then (but H is a meat lover).

      • timethief July 13, 2012 at 11:18 am

        No, I’m not a vegan. Years ago I was, but I had health issues as I became very anemic and discovered I had food sensitivities and allergies. We are primarily ovo-lacto vegetarians who eat about 3 or 4 meat and fish meals weekly. Luckily we are able to get most of what we eat from local organic producers and local fishers. But I came back to tell you how much we liked this recipe which we had yesterday. Thanks so much for sharing it.

      • cravingthis July 13, 2012 at 3:10 pm

        I’m so happy to hear you liked the recipe. Thank you for coming back and providing your feedback!

  2. Henry July 12, 2012 at 9:07 am Reply

    I loved it, it was so tasty!

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

