Lemon Cranberry Scones

Lemon Cranberry Scone slice- final

I woke up feeling tired and had a craving for scones.  I was so sleep deprived that I misread the ingredients, and used ½ cup of butter instead of ¼ cup.  The original recipe was measured in sticks, which I normally just convert to cups.

While H scrubbed and zested the lemons, the aroma perked me up!  I wasn’t in the mood to pat the dough out and use a biscuit cutter, so I placed the entire mixture in an 8” cake pan, and scored into 6 pieces.

After baking for 15 minutes, I rotated the pan and noticed a bit of melted butter on the surface.  I thought, “Wow; these scones are buttery!”  It wasn’t until I sat down to write this post that I realized I had doubled the butter.  I’m still amazed they came out so well!

I did NOT wait for them to cool down.  I bit into a soft, fluffy, very moist and lemony scone!  I love when a recipe comes out well the first time around!

You can also eliminate the lemon and cranberries, and make plain scones to serve with jam.

Lemon Cranberry Scones

Makes 6 – 8 scones
Recipe adapted from pgeveryday.ca

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached flour
  • 1/2 cup cake flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries (I would suggest using ½ cup, too many cranberries made the scones too sweet)
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, chilled and cut into cubes (definitely stick to 1/2 cup butter)
  • 3/4 cup low-fat buttermilk
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • Zest from 2 lemons
  • Egg wash (Beat 1 egg with 1 tsp water) **(necessary if making plain scones)
  • Raw sugar, to garnish (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 425°F, place rack in middle
  2. Place parchment paper (cut to fit) on bottom of 8″ round non-stick pan
  3. In a large mixing bowl, combine flour, sugar and baking powder
  4. With a pastry cutter, blend in butter until it’s pea-sized (do not overwork the dough)
  5. Add dried cranberries
  6. In a separate bowl, whisk together buttermilk, egg, lemon juice and lemon zest
  7. Gently fold into the flour mixture until moist crumbs form
  8. Pat mixture into prepared pan (it will be sticky)
  9. With a knife or pizza cutter dusted each time with flour, cut into 6 – 8 wedges.  You don’t have to go all the way to the bottom, just score it
  10. Lightly brush with egg wash (necessary for plain scones) and sprinkle with raw sugar (optional)
  11. Bake until golden brown, about 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean (it took 25 minutes in my oven, but check at the 20 minute mark)
  12. When cool, cut into wedges

Kitchen note:

  • To make your own buttermilk, add 1 tbsp vinegar or lemon juice to a measuring cup, and add milk to equal 3/4 cup, stir and let sit for a few minutes
Tagged: , , ,

7 thoughts on “Lemon Cranberry Scones

  1. foodiefunfitnessgirl March 18, 2013 at 12:44 pm Reply

    Hey there! I just made these and they turned out wonderfully. Thanks so much for posting the recipe!

    • cravingthis March 19, 2013 at 6:05 pm Reply

      Hi Stephanie ~ I’m soooo glad they turned out well for you. Baking can be a “trial and error” thing, but it’s wonderful when our baked goods come out great.

      Thank you for taking the time to comment.

      Happy baking (and blogging) 🙂

      Ruby

  2. timethief June 9, 2012 at 7:23 pm Reply

    What a great recipe. I love scones, lemon and cranberries and will be trying this one.

    • cravingthis June 10, 2012 at 6:51 pm Reply

      Hello timethief – thank you for visiting and posting a comment; I appreciate it.

      I just made a batch of plain scones this morning and used ¼ cup of butter. I would highly recommend sticking to ½ cup of butter. I would have preferred to cut down, but they didn’t come out as moist. An egg wash brushed on top is also necessary for a nice brown color.

      Cheers!

  3. milk June 6, 2012 at 4:43 pm Reply

    Looks quite tasty. Using round/square cake pan will make preparation much easier 🙂

    Must dust off my pans!! I am sure H enjoyed every morsel nonetheless. Good work!

    • cravingthis June 7, 2012 at 5:50 pm Reply

      Hi milk,

      Thanks so much for visiting and taking the time to comment. I hope you’ll try the scones, and let me know how they came out. Please feel free to ask me any questions about this recipe, or any others.

      Happy baking!

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

