Apple, Cinnamon and Pecan Oatmeal

Click here for an updated new and amazing recipe!

The past few days have been cold and rainy, so I decided to make oatmeal for breakfast.  I’m not particularly fond of oatmeal to be honest; however, H likes it.

I used Quaker Oats (large flake) and simmered with milk instead of water, and just followed the instructions given.  I also added diced apples.  I topped the oatmeal off with homemade brown sugar, cinnamon and a touch of nutmeg.  I love toasted pecans and sprinkled some on top.  Toasting the pecans brings a real depth of flavor, and a nice crunchy texture to an otherwise boring bowl of oatmeal.

I have to say, this beats instant oatmeal any day!

Kitchen notes:

  • The cooking time on the package states 3-5 minutes (for microwave).  I made enough for 4 portions and added diced apples.  Total cooking time was approximately 20 minutes (stove top)
  • Keep stirring on low heat as the oatmeal will stick to the bottom of your pot
  • Add additional milk or water to suit your taste (thin or thick). I added up to 1 cup more
  • Cooked oatmeal keeps well in the fridge.  Just add a small amount of milk or water and microwave for a few minutes, stirring in between
  • Sprinkle with toasted nuts just before serving
Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Apple, Cinnamon and Pecan Oatmeal

  1. Henry April 27, 2012 at 6:43 pm Reply

    Looks very healthy and good for you

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

