Italian Sausage Stew


This is one of H’s favorite dishes and is super easy to prepare.  I normally choose mild sausages and the spice level can be adjusted by adding crushed red chili flakes.  I use a variety of peppers (green, red, orange, yellow).  For a heartier version you can also add diced potatoes.

If you have time, you can sauté the peppers, garlic, onions, carrots and potatoes, and then simmer with the remaining ingredients.

Italian Sausage Stew

Serves 4-6

Ingredients

  • 6 Italian sausage links (mild and/or hot)
  • 2 – 3 peppers (green, yellow, orange, red), cut into chunks
  • 3-4 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 1 large onion, cut into chunks
  • 3 – 4 carrots, cut into small chunks or slices
  • 1 – 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes (you can use whole tomatoes and mash them)
  • 1 tsp dried basil or oregano
  • Garlic powder (to taste, I give a few shakes)
  • Chili powder (to taste, I give a few generous shakes)
  • Paprika powder (to taste, I give a few generous shakes)
  • Black pepper to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 375°F
  2. Place sausages on a heat proof pan and bake for approximately 15 – 20 minutes, or until nicely browned.  I use this method to avoid frying them on the stove top.  When done, cut each sausage into 3 – 4 large chunks
  3. Place sausages and all remaining ingredients in a large pot
  4. Bring to a simmer and cook on medium to medium low heat for 40 minutes, or until carrots and potatoes (if added) are tender

Kitchen notes:

  • We like to serve the stew over steamed rice.  It also goes well with your choice of crusty bread
  • This dish freezes well

Tagged: , ,

4 thoughts on “Italian Sausage Stew

  1. Henry April 20, 2012 at 6:31 pm Reply

    I like your Italian Sausage Stew, if only I had some now with Italian bread! Mmmmn…….

    • cravingthis May 4, 2012 at 9:15 am Reply

      I’m craving this right now! And it’s only 9:15 a.m.!

  2. rainydaygirl61 April 20, 2012 at 11:26 am Reply

    Hi Ruby! I make a similar dish and I use a bit of balsamic vinegar in it – we like the tang.

    • cravingthis April 20, 2012 at 5:47 pm Reply

      Balsamic vinegar sounds like a wonderful addition! Thanks for stopping by.

It makes me smile when I receive a new comment. I look forward to hearing from you!

